Pages

Monday, April 20, 2015

When NOT to delete a shared folder/file

Turns out that removing a shared item may not be as simple as we thought. After a long discussion with Google Support, I realized many trainers (myself included) didn’t realize that although a shared document can only be deleted by the owner, it is possible for that document to be removed from it's folder and placed in limbo. The conditions under which this could happen and the solution provided by Google Support are in this document: http://goo.gl/DK2V6E

So, if someone has shared a folder, deleting a document from the folder will remove it for everyone (owner included). Although the owner still have access to it, it will not show up in the original shared folder or within his My Drive — the owner will have to search to find it.

Lesson: don’t delete files from folders - remove yourself from the Share list.